Getting Over Matt

This week’s Trifecta Challenge is to use the word ‘doctor’ with the unusual definition of ‘a material added (as to food) to produce a desired effect’. See how others got on at http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com

I’m so over Matt.

I’ve been over him for six months now. Since the first time I tried to get rid of him. I told him it wasn’t working, but apparently he didn’t get it. I don’t know why. We’d only been seeing each other for four months, it wasn’t working…finito! Or so I thought…

It had all started fine. We met on an online dating site. I liked his picture, he seemed friendly, we shared a mutual interest in the same sit-coms, and a mutual hatred of cats. We met up for a pizza. He was cute. We chatted, we flirted, we kissed. He wanted to come home with me, but I thought no, you’ve got to be careful who you meet on the Internet, haven’t you? But as we got to know each other more, I eventually let him in.

After a few months though, things fizzled out. I just wasn’t feeling that spark. So I told him it wasn’t working. He went home looking a little sad that night, but we shook hands and parted as friends. Or so I thought…

He started to text me constantly, e-mail me constantly. He’d sit in his car outside my apartment all night. Creepy, right? Recently, I’ve bumped into him everywhere. Outside my office building, in the gym, everywhere. Clingy men are not attractive. And now I’ve got a new man, I don’t want to have to see him again.

So I’m taking matters into my own hands. I’ve given into his requests and invited him over for a meal. He thinks I want us to get back together. I’m going to doctor his soup with bleach. He’s not the first I’ve had to do it to, and I’m sure he won’t be the last.

You’ve got to be careful who you meet on the Internet, haven’t you?

14 thoughts on “Getting Over Matt

  1. Ha!ha!Sure one has to be careful-specially when it may be someone “experienced” on the other side;-)Loved the way this tale was going along only with a slight sense of disquiet ,when suddenly out of the blue,it turns the tables on the reader-a wonderful piece of writing:-)

Leave a Reply

