Rain, Rain, Go Away

This week’s challenge from http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/ is to write a piece between 33 and 333 words using the word ‘rain’, and as it’s April Fools Day, we have to use the Urban Dictionary definition of ‘to take a lot of money in bill form and toss it in the air. This is most effectively done at a strip club’.

I always liked the rain as a little girl. I loved the smell of it, and the way the whole world felt fresh afterwards. Well maybe not the whole world, but our little grey council estate at least. I liked to feel it on my skin. It even cleaned the playground slide, and washed away some of the grafitti, and left great big puddles for us to splash in. I loved getting my pink wellies on and splashing in puddles.

When I’m on the stage, with the lights flashing, and the music blaring, wearing my lacy underwear and layers of make-up, I still like to feel the rain on my skin. The leering men rain bills on me, and although I sometimes get a paper cut, and sometimes they’re sticky and covered in beer, I like to feel the money on my skin. It makes me feel less cheap, like I might be worth something maybe. Some of the men try and tuck bills in my bra, in my knickers, between my breasts. Some of them climb off their barstools and try and grab me. Some of them throw worse things than money at me…like bottle caps, and piss, and even pieces of broken glass.

But there’s nothing I can do, this is my life now. I just close my eyes, wiggle my hips, plaster my face with a false smile, and think of when I was just a little girl who loved her pink wellies, and splashing in puddles, and the smell of the rain…

23 thoughts on “Rain, Rain, Go Away

Leave a Reply

