Knowing

This week’s Trifecta Challenge is to include the word ‘ecstasy’ meaning ‘mystic or prophetic trance’ somewhere in a 33-333 word piece. http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/

I know the day I am going to die.

24th November, 2034. Late autumn seems like a fitting time to die.

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve had these visions, these predictions, these little moments of ecstasy, and whatever I’ve seen has come true. I’m not sure how I’m going to die though, I haven’t had that vision yet.

The first vision I remember was when I was five years old. I desperately wanted a puppy for Christmas. I was going to call him Buttons. But one day that December, I had a vision that my parents had gotten me a Barbie instead. I practiced my ‘surprised’ and ‘grateful’ face in front of the mirror for weeks.

Sure enough, Santa had brought me Hairdresser Barbie. Hairdresser Barbie was shit.

Sometimes seeing visions of the future can be useful. Sometimes it can break my heart.

I saw I was going to get into University before I got my exam results. I saw my ex-boyfriend cheating on me. I’ve seen myself giving birth to twins. I’ve seen school photographs of just one little boy…what’s going to happen to the other baby? My life is plagued with worry.

There are no surprises left. I will get married, in a pink dress (what possesses me to choose a pink wedding dress?!), I will have twins, one will vanish from photographs…

All that’s left for me to find out is how I’ll die on that autumn day in 2034. Maybe I’ll never know…

14 thoughts on “Knowing

  1. This was an intriguing story. I like how you began and ended with the date she was going to die. It really brought it all together. The Barbie and pink wedding dress made me chuckle, but the missing child broke my heart. I do believe it’s better to be ignorant of our fate. As you depicted here, knowing bits and pieces results in so much time being spent wondering…wanting but dreading to know more.

Leave a Reply

